2016 CACP Design Awards

2016 CACP Design Awards

2016 CACP Design Awards

The CACP Design Awards were presented at the Spring 2016 CACP Awards & Certificate Presentation on April 29, 2016.

Each year the Faculty in the Department of Architecture collectively honor architecture and interior design students who represent the best of design in their respective year and discipline in our college. The nominees for the 2016 Design Awards are selected by respective faculty members. The winners are chosen by vote of the faculty and are presented with books and commemorative bookmarks.

First Year Undergraduate Designer of the Year (Architecture + Interior Design): Benito Martinez  

Second Year (Architecture + Interior Design): Estefania Barajas

Third Year (Interior Design): Joleesa Escamilla 

Fourth Year (Interior Design): Candice Ng

Third & Fourth Year (Architecture): Oscar Rincon Jasso & Donovan Linsey    

First Year, Graduate Program (M.Arch): Michelyn Smith


The Henry Adams Medal and Certificate are the highest honors given out by the American Institute of Architects as awarded by the Faculty in Architecture. The top-ranking graduate student, from each of the accredited universities, receives the Medal. The second-ranking graduate student receives the Certificate of Merit.

Henry Adams Certificate of Merit: Aaron Jarrett

Henry Adams Medal (top-ranked student): Homero Montemayor


The Alpha Rho Chi Medal is judged by the faculty in the Department of Architecture, and presented to a graduating student who has shown an ability for leadership, service to his or her school, and true professionalism while maintaining a good attitude and personality. In 2016 the faculty chose two recipients of the Alpha Rho Chi Medal – one graduate and one undergraduate student.

Alpha Rho Chi Medal (Undergraduate): Jessica Lee

Alpha Rho Chi Medal (Graduate): Aaron Welch


Tau Sigma Delta is the National Honor Society in Architecture and Allied Arts which was established in 1913. Its prime objective is to celebrate excellence in scholarship, to stimulate mental achievement, and to award those undergraduate and graduate students who attain high scholastic standing in Architecture and the allied arts of design by the rewards of membership in an honor society. Membership is for life.

The inductees for Tau Sigma Delta for 2016 are:

Janay B. O’Leary

Donovan Linsey

Jessica Lee

Yoana Penalova

Justin Ritchey

Alana Coleman

Adriana Lintz


The ARCC King Student Medal is given to one student per ARCC member institution. Selection of recipients is based upon criteria that acknowledge innovation, integrity, and scholarship in architectural and/or environmental design research. The award may be made at either the graduate or the undergraduate level.

ARCC King Student Medal: Mary Hatch

For her paper titled: Residential Sub Metering: Introduction, Guidelines & Case Study


Established in 1949, Sigma Lambda Chi is an International Construction Honor Society with the fundamental purpose of recognizing outstanding students in construction curricula, outstanding professional individuals in construction and education. The following students are top 20% of their class who are nominated and accepted to the society by the members of Sigma Lambda Chi Epsilon V chapter. Inductees will receive stoles which are presented with the financial support of the Construction Industry Advisory Council.

The inductees for Sigma Lambda Chi for 2016 are:

Eduardo Angel

Stephen D. Barrett

Zoie Cuellar

Marco E. Godinez

Edgar D. Rojas

Josue D. Martinez

Hung G. Ngo

Kimberly Ochoa


The 2016 Honor Award in Urban and Regional Planning is given to the highest-ranking URP student in the program. This spring, the award goes to two students.

Urban and Regional Planning Honor Award: Sarah Esserlieu + Nathan Foote


Cultural Sustainability Award: TBA

Sponsored by the Center for Cultural Sustainability, this award is given to the Thesis or Masters Project that best displays excellence in design, research or solutions regarding continuity of cultural identity; heritage conservation practices or treatment; analysis of regulations and policies that affect cultural sustainability; or sustainable solutions that promote heritage conservation of places, communities, urban areas or regions. The award will be selected later this month and the Center for Cultural Sustainability will announce the award recipient.


The Dean’s Awards honor excellence in each program within the College with an award for the best work of those about to enter their respective professions. For Architecture, this is the Master’s Project Award. For Urban and Regional Planning, this is the Capstone Project Award. The Dean’s Award for Best Master’s Project in Architecture honors graduate students in their final semester for work on their final project – known as the Master’s Project. This project is the culmination of their work as an architecture student and is based on a year’s worth of work as they have prepared themselves for professional practice. Nominees have been selected by their respective faculty, and the students’ materials were reviewed by Dean Murphy. Two projects have been chosen — a runner up (merit award) and top award for best project.

Dean’s Merit Award for Master’s Project in Architecture: Jingqi Li/The Media Lab

Dean’s Award for Best Master’s Project in Architecture: Pegah Amini/The Embassy of Iran


The Dean’s Award for Best Master’s Project in Urban and Regional Planning honors the work of graduate students in the Master of Science Degree in Urban and Regional Planning for their work on their final capstone project. The capstone project is the culmination of 48 hours of graduate study as an urban and regional planning graduate student and is based on their thesis or professional report. Nominees were selected by the urban and regional planning faculty.

Dean’s Merit Award for Urban and Regional Planning Capstone: Nathan Foote

Dean’s Award for Best Urban and Regional Planning Capstone: Sarah Esserlieu