Architecture Advisory Council

The UTSA Architecture Advocacy & Advisory Council (AAAC) exists to support and maintain a dialog between architects, allied design professionals, engaged community professionals, faculty, and students. This two-way street of communication allows for those outside the department to stay informed and supportive of the department and program’s educational activities. In turn, each council allows the department and program faculty and students to remain aware of the changing professional environment and community concerns. The UTSA AAAC (Architecture Advocacy & Advisory Council) serves as the primary liaison between the professions / community and the academy. It is the means by which the community and professionals can help the department access resources, foster opportunities that educate, inform and enrich the lives of our students. We appreciate their (and your) support and guidance in such activities as:
• Support through Giving
• Service as advocate of the Architecture program with the College, University, & Community
• Service as a liaison between the Department of Architecture and the architectural profession and allied professions
• Offer advice, counsel and vision to the Department of Architecture
• Promote the Department of Architecture, and its activities

Mission of the AAAC: To provide support for the UTSA Architecture program. It seeks to enrich and enhance the education of the students, engagement of those students within the community (both professional and local), and seeks to raise the profile of the program within the University and wider educational context.

Vision of the AAAC: To support the UTSA Architecture program towards its goal of providing a high-quality, globally-informed, locally-relevant, and reflective professional education.

Current Organization of the AAAC: The following are its organizing principles: Student Support, Program Support, Community Connection.

Advisory Council for Architecture Membership:
AAAC Membership is open to everyone interested in helping UTSA better educate our future architects & designers. The AAAC is currently very active and holds monthly meetings. If you are interested in serving on the AAAC please contact Dr. Sedef Doganer, Chair of the Department of Architecture, at for more information. Thanks. We look forward to your support.

Our current Members include:
Michael Rey (AAAC Chair)
Alejandro Arrunada
Melanie Bartholomew
Mary Bartlett
Landon Boone
Laura Carrera
Veronica Castro de Barrera
Timothy Cone
Mickey Conrad
Carlos Constantino
Lauren Diliberto
Debra Dockery
Jeffrey Fetzer
Tenna Florian
Eurico R. Francisco
Jose Galindo
Adam Gates
Lorenzo Gomez III
Jesus Guerrero
Irby Hightower
Adam Hockley
Travis M. Hopper
Casey Johnson
Billy Lambert
Juan Marmolejo
Steven Marrone
Nicole Mellado Marrone
Vincent Michael
Mark Odom
Mark Oppelt
Steve Patmon
Morgan Penix
Antonio Plascencia
Robyn Popa
Jim Poteet
Jason Puchot
Frank Rascoe
Bill Reeves
Benjamin Rosas
Miguel Saldana
Edgar Sanchez
Charles Schneider
Jim Shelton
Cesar A. Silva
Madeline Slay
Michelyn Smith
Adrianna Swindle
Pegah Taher Toloo Del
Mauricio Tafoya
Barbara Warren
Cliff Whittingstall
Stephen Williams
Aline Yoldi
Edna L. Zepeda